How to Work In Cannabis
Requirements by State
Politics, budgets, and public support vary widely by state, which means each state’s requirements to work in the cannabis industry look completely different from one another.* This map and corresponding state information is not updated in real time. For up-to-the-minute information on requirements to work in cannabis, visit the governing body links provided on each state page.
How to get your cannabis license in:
- Adult Use:
- Market Overview:
Arkansas voters approved a medical cannabis law in 2016, though patients were not able to purchase products from dispensaries until 2019. According to the Arkansas Department of Health, there are over 75,000 active medical marijuana ID cards as of June 2021.
In the 2021 legislative session, lawmakers are considering several proposals to make changes to the medical cannabis program, including restricting certain kinds of advertisements and establishing a Medical Marijuana Advisory Subcommittee. Patient advocates are also working to stop another bill that would prohibit patients from being “intoxicated or under the influence of medical marijuana in a public place.”
- Requirements & Application Process:
Who needs a Registry Identity Card?:
Any person who is "being hired to work in a medical marijuana cultivator, processor, dispensary, or transporter". The Registry Identify Card (RIC) application packet will be provided to you by your new employer. State of Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, Alcoholic Beverage Control RIC Card Application
- Pick up your application packet from your new employer.
- Complete the Arkansas State Police Background Application for the Arkansas State Police.*
- Take that background application along with a $25 check or money order payable to the Arkansas State Police to the ASP.
- Complete the Authority to Release form.*
- Bring all required documents and a $25 check or money order payable to the MMC to the ABC/MMC office.
- Collect a fingerprint card and memo from the ABC/MMC office.
- Take the fingerprint card, memo, and a check or money order for $13.25 to the ASP.
- Complete a background check.
- If approved, you will be notified by the ABC/MMC to come collect your new RIC card. You will need to bring a check or money order payable to the MMC for $25. *Requires signatures to be completed in front of a notary public and executed by the notary.
- Background Check Requirements:
“Alcoholic Beverage Control Administration rules and regulations prohibit the issuance of a registry identification card to a person who has been convicted of an excluded felony offense.” State of Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, Alcoholic Beverage Control RIC Card Application
- Additional Links:
Latest JobsSearch All AK Jobs
Membership has its privileges. When you create your Vangst profile, you get direct access to the largest network of cannabis professionals.Make connections, forge relationships, and chart your course in the cannabis industry - it all starts here.Join The Network
Just getting started? We got you. Crossing over? We got you. Climbing the Cannabis ladder? We got you.Search jobs, follow companies, and set alerts for new postings so when it comes to landing your dream job, you never miss a beat.Search Jobs