Cannabis Job Requirements for Mississippi
Politics, budgets, and public support vary widely depending on where you live. We've curated a list of requirements to help clarify what you need to know to land cannabis jobs in each state.
- Adult Use:
- 21 (minors qualify with parent or guardian's consent and control of administration and dosage)
Latest JobsSearch All MS Jobs
- Market Overview:
After years of court challenges, Mississippi became the 37th state to legalize medical cannabis when Gov. Tate Reeves signed the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act in February 2022.
While patients can apply for medical licenses, no retail stores have yet been licensed as of October 2022. Cultivation and processing facilities, however, are being licensed by the state. You can see all Mississippi licensees here.
- Requirements & Application Process:
Cannabis industry workers in Mississippi are called "Medical Cannabis Establishment Employees" by the state, and must be issued a work permit.
Here are the requirements necessary to obtain a Mississippi cannabis work permit:
- Must be registered and have a work permit before working for medical cannabis establishment
- 21 years of age or older
- Submit a color, passport-style digital photo taken within six months of application
- Provide copy of a current state-issued ID card issued by a department of motor vehicles
- Provide copies of all current state-issued professional licenses
- Pay a $25 fee plus a background check fee
- Must be fingerprinted and pass a Mississippi Central Criminal Database and FBI Criminal History Database background check
- Background Check Requirements:
An applicant for an initial medical cannabis establishment work permit or renewal of a medical cannabis establishment employee work permit must complete a fingerprint-based background check of the Mississippi Central Criminal Database and the Federal Bureau of Investigation Criminal History Database and must not have a disqualifying felony offense.
"Disqualifying felony offense" means:
(i) A conviction for a crime of violence, as defined in Section 97-3-2 Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended, or
(ii) A conviction for a crime that was defined as a violent crime in the law of the jurisdiction in which the offense was committed, and that was classified as a felony in the jurisdiction where the person was convicted; or a conviction for a violation of a state or federal controlled substances law that was classified as a felony in the jurisdiction where the person was convicted, including the service of any term of probation, incarceration or supervised release within the previous five years and the offender has not committed another similar offense since the conviction.
A disqualifying felony offense shall not include a conviction that consisted of conduct for which the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act would likely have prevented the conviction but for the fact that the conduct occurred before the effective date of the Medical Cannabis Act.
- Additional Links:
Mississippi Medical Cannabis Program (including links to the state's online Portal, where applications can be submitted). Mississippi Medical Cannabis Program Pre-Application Checklist
Membership has its privileges. When you create your Vangst profile, you get direct access to the largest network of cannabis professionals.Make connections, forge relationships, and chart your course in the cannabis industry - it all starts here.Join The Network
Just getting started? We got you. Crossing over? We got you. Climbing the Cannabis ladder? We got you.Search jobs, follow companies, and set alerts for new postings so when it comes to landing your dream job, you never miss a beat.Search Jobs