How to Work In Cannabis

Requirements by State

Map of the United States

Politics, budgets, and public support vary widely by state, which means each state’s requirements to work in the cannabis industry look completely different from one another.* This map and corresponding state information is not updated in real time. For up-to-the-minute information on requirements to work in cannabis, visit the governing body links provided on each state page.

17States & DistrictsAdult use cannabis is legal
21States & DistrictsMedical cannabis is legal

How to get your cannabis license in:

Shape of Nevada

Nevada

Medical:
yes
Adult Use:
yes
Age:
21+
Hemp:
yes
CBD:
yes
Delivery:
Medical & Adult Use
Fees:
$75
Application:
Link
Market Overview:

Nevada’s medical market officially launched in 2015, and in 2016, voters approved the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act that opened up the adult-use market effective Jan. 1, 2017. The state sold just shy of $1 billion worth of medical and adult-use cannabis in the 2022 fiscal year.

Requirements & Application Process:

Plant-touching cannabis workers in Nevada are called "Marijuana Establishment Agents."

Here are the requirements to obtain an agent card in Nevada.

Requirements:

  • Must be 21 years of age or older
  • Create or sign into an account through the Cannabis Customer Portal
  • Complete the basic information in the online form
  • Upload a picture of your government-issued ID and a passport-quality photo
  • Complete the attestation confirming you've been complete and truthful in your application
  • Print the submission confirmation page and remit with your agent card fee to the address provided;
  • Fingerprinting is also required
  • Non-refundable payment in the amount of $75 per category
Background Check Requirements:

Applicants for an agent card:

  • Cannot have been convicted of an excluded felony offense*
  • Must be compliant with any order or plan for repayment of child support

*An excluded felony offense is defined by the Nevada Marjuana Enforcement Division as “a crime of violence or a violation of a state or federal law pertaining to controlled substances if the law was punishable as a felony in the jurisdiction where the person was convicted.”

Per the Cannabis Compliance Board, “If it is determined through the background process the applicant has been convicted of an excluded felony offense or has two or more felony convictions of any category and is not eligible for an Agent Registration Card, the temporary registration will be revoked.”

Additional Links:
Additional Job & Salary Information:

2021 Salary Guide

State Regulations Forum: Get your state regulations questions answered in our community forum.

Search a vast pool of opportunities catering to everyone from enthusiasts to experts.

Connect

Membership has its privileges. When you create your Vangst profile, you get direct access to the largest network of cannabis professionals.Make connections, forge relationships, and chart your course in the cannabis industry - it all starts here.

Join The Network

Search

Just getting started? We got you. Crossing over? We got you. Climbing the Cannabis ladder? We got you.Search jobs, follow companies, and set alerts for new postings so when it comes to landing your dream job, you never miss a beat.

Search Jobs