How to Work In Cannabis

Requirements by State

Map of the United States

Politics, budgets, and public support vary widely by state, which means each state’s requirements to work in the cannabis industry look completely different from one another.* This map and corresponding state information is not updated in real time. For up-to-the-minute information on requirements to work in cannabis, visit the governing body links provided on each state page.

17States & DistrictsAdult use cannabis is legal
21States & DistrictsMedical cannabis is legal

How to get your cannabis license in:

Shape of Oregon

Oregon

Medical:
yes
Adult Use:
yes
Age:
21+
Hemp:
yes
CBD:
yes
Delivery:
Medical & Adult Use
Fees:
$100
Application:
Link
Market Overview:

Oregon has both a medical and adult use cannabis program. As of 2020, Oregon had over 18,000 individuals working in the cannabis industry.

Requirements & Application Process:

Who needs a Marijuana Worker Permit:

“Persons employed in the OLCC-licensed (Oregon Liquor Control Commission) recreational marijuana industry, including licensees, must have a valid Marjuana Worker Permit. This includes anyone working at a business with any of the following OLCC licenses: Producers, Processors, Wholesalers, Retailers.” OLCC Marijuana Worker Permit

Requirements:

Background Check Requirements:

Per the OLCC, your application for a Marijuana Worker Permit will be denied if:

  • You are not 21 years of age or older
  • You had a marijuana license or worker permit revoked for violation of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 or any rule adopted under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 within two years of the date of the application

Your application for a Marijuana Worker Permit may be denied if:

  • You were convicted of a felony for possession, manufacture or delivery of a controlled substance within three years of the date the Commission received the application
  • You were convicted of a felony for a crime involving violence within three years of the date the Commission received the application
  • You were convicted of a felony for a crime involving violence within three years of the date the Commission received the application
  • You were convicted of a felony for a crime of dishonesty or deception, including but not limited to theft, fraud, or forgery, within three years of the date the Commission received the application
  • You were convicted of a felony for a crime involving a firearm, within three years of the date the Commission received the application
  • You have more than one conviction for any of the crimes listed in subsections (a) to (e) of this section within five years of the date the Commission received the application
  • You have Has violated any provision of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545 or any rule adopted under ORS 475B.010 to 475B.545
  • You made a false statement to the Commission.
Additional Links:
Additional Job & Salary Information:

2020 Salary Guide

State Regulations Forum: Get your state regulations questions answered in our community forum.

Search a vast pool of opportunities catering to everyone from enthusiasts to experts.

Connect

Membership has its privileges. When you create your Vangst profile, you get direct access to the largest network of cannabis professionals.Make connections, forge relationships, and chart your course in the cannabis industry - it all starts here.

Join The Network

Search

Just getting started? We got you. Crossing over? We got you. Climbing the Cannabis ladder? We got you.Search jobs, follow companies, and set alerts for new postings so when it comes to landing your dream job, you never miss a beat.

Search Jobs