How to Work In Cannabis

Requirements by State

Map of the United States

Politics, budgets, and public support vary widely by state, which means each state’s requirements to work in the cannabis industry look completely different from one another.* This map and corresponding state information is not updated in real time. For up-to-the-minute information on requirements to work in cannabis, visit the governing body links provided on each state page.

17States & DistrictsAdult use cannabis is legal
21States & DistrictsMedical cannabis is legal

How to get your cannabis license in:

Shape of Rhode Island

Rhode Island

Medical:
yes
Adult Use:
no
Age:
21+
Hemp:
yes
Delivery:
none
CBD:
yes
Fees:
$100
Application:
Link to Application
Market Overview:

In 2006, Rhode Island approved medical cannabis. Data from Arcview Market Research and BDS Analytics show that the state of 1.1 million people generated $74 million in medical sales in 2018. The state has attempted to pass adult use cannabis on several attempts but has failed to do so. As of 2021, Rhode Island is only one of two states in the northeast that has yet to legalize adult-use cannabis.

Requirements & Application Process:

Who needs a Registry Identification Card?

“All principal officers, board members, employees, agents, and volunteers of a compassion center or licensed cultivator, and all primary caregivers shall apply for registry identification cards.” Rhode Island Department of State, Rules and Regulations Related to the Medical Marijuana Program

Requirements:

  • 21 years of age or older
  • Submit a complete application
  • Include a non-refundable fee of $100
Background Check Requirements:

“All compassion center and licensed cultivator owners, members, officers, directors, managers, agents, and primary caregiver applicants will be subject to a national criminal background check as part of their application for a registry identification card.”

The Department of Business Regulation (DBR) will deny an application if the background check reveals that the applicant has been convicted of a felony drug offense or has entered a plea of no contest for a felony drug offense and received a sentence of probation unless the applicant successfully petitions for an exception. Rhode Island Department of State, Rules and Regulations Related to the Medical Marijuana Program

Additional Links:
Additional Job & Salary Information:

2020 Salary Guide

State Regulations Forum: Get your state regulations questions answered in our community forum.

All Rhode Island Jobs:
View And Apply To All Rhode Island Jobs

Join the community, grow your career

Sign up for a free Vangst account and get access to expert content and community to help you break in and stand out.

  • Find top Cannabis jobs near you
  • Learn the ins and outs of the industry
  • Access our annual Cannabis Salary Guide
  • Attend all live and virtual events hosted by seasoned recruiters
  • Connect with thousands of other Cannabis professionals
Already have an account? Sign In
By continuing, you agree to our Terms and Conditions